The ERCOT Selection Committee also designated former Congressman Bill Flores to serve as Vice Chair of the ERCOT board.


Three additional directors — including a former congressman — have been named to the board of the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, the organization that operates the state’s primary power grid.

The new appointees are former U.S. Congressman Bill Flores, business executive Elaine Mendoza and renewable energy businessman Zin Smati.

The appointments were made by the ERCOT Board Selection Committee and announced this week by the Public Utility Commission.  The ERCOT Selection Committee also designated Mr. Flores to serve as Vice Chair of the ERCOT board.

About the New ERCOT Board Members

  • Bill Flores

    Bill Flores, an entrepreneur, served as the U.S. Representative for the 17th Congressional District in Central Texas from 2011 through 2021. He is a Texas licensed CPA and has an undergraduate degree in accounting from Texas A&M University and an MBA from Houston Baptist University.

  • Elaine Mendoza is founder, President & CEO of Conceptual MindWorks, Inc., a medical informatics company located in San Antonio. She currently serves on the Board of Regents of The Texas A&M University System, and previously served on the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. Ms. Mendoza received a Bachelor of Science degree in Aerospace Engineering from Texas A&M University.
  • Zin Smati is a member of the board of directors of SNC-Lavalin, a public global engineering and services group, and Boralex, a public energy company with interests in renewable energy. He also serves on the board of trustees of the Bauer College of Business at the University of Houston. Mr. Smati holds a Ph.D., a Master of Business Administration, a Master of Science degree, and a Bachelor of Engineering degree.

The newest members will join two other previous appointees, as well as the Public Utility Commission chair, the Public Utility Counsel and the ERCOT CEO. Three board members remain to be named.

The ERCOT Board Selection Committee members are Arch “Beaver” Aplin, G. Brint Ryan, and Bill Jones. These members were respectively appointed by the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and Speaker in accordance with Senate Bill 2, passed in the 87th regular session.

— R.A. Dyer